My Thoughts On: Island of Icarus by Christine Danse

Island of Icarus by Christine Danse
Published by Carina Press
Rating: 4/5

* * *

Synopsis:

“Field Journal of Jonathan Orms, 1893

En route to polite exile in the Galapagos Islands (field work, to quote the dean of my university), I have found myself marooned on a deserted tropical paradise. Deserted, that is, except for my savior, a mysterious American called Marcus. He is an inventor—and the proof of his greatness is the marvelous new clockwork arm he has created to replace the unsightly one that was ruined in my shipboard mishap.

Marcus has a truly brilliant mind and the gentlest hands, which cause me to quiver in an unfamiliar but rather pleasant way. Surely it is only my craving for human companionship that draws me to this man, nothing more? He says a ship will pass this way in a few months, but I am welcome to stay as long as I like. The thought of leaving Marcus becomes more untenable with each passing day, though staying would be fatal to my career…”

– bn.com

*  *  *

My Thoughts:

Island of Icarus by Christine Danse may be a quick read, but that doesn’t make it any less delightful. The pacing is a bit fast and the relationship between John and Marcus matures nearly overnight, some people may refer to this as insta-love, however; it makes it no less sweet. If you are looking for a story with large cast of character and really in-depth character development this may not be for you, but if you are looking for a quick and sweet romance that has the potential to rot even the strongest of teeth than this is exactly what the dentist ordered!

I really couldn’t help but feel for both Marcus and John as they figured out their relationship with each other. I found myself liking them both more and more as the story progressed and rooting for their love to work out, which I believe is a big part of romance novels. Honestly, why would you read a romance if you didn’t feel like you could cheer the couple on and hope for their happy ending? The caring nature they show towards each other was enough to make me gush, if not slightly envious, the two of them really mashed well together.

Sadly, Island of Icarus ends rather abruptly leaving the reader craving more. To some extent I feel like the two characters achieved what they set out to do, yet only to the bare minimum in some aspects. This is an erotica so there are a few sex scenes woven throughout the story, but they are extremely fast-paced. If you are looking for something with more detailed sexual dealings than you may or may not enjoy this. And, though I admit I wish it had lasted longer and had a bit more development, this is definitely an ebook that I will go back and reread.

Leave a comment