My Thoughts On: Charmed Life by Diana Wynne Jones

Charmed Life by Diana Wynne Jones
Published by HarperCollins
Rating: 5/5


Synopsis:

“A bewitching comic fantasy by a master of the supernatural

Cat doesn’t mind living in the shadow of his sister, Gwendolen, the most promising young witch ever seen on Coven Street. But trouble starts brewing the moment the two orphans are summoned to live in Chrestomanci Castle. Frustrated that the witches of the castle refuse to acknowledge her talents, Gwendolen conjures up a scheme that could throw whole worlds out of whack.”

* * *

I couldn’t be more honored than I am to be able to write a review for such a wonderful book as “Charmed Life.” I’ve heard of this author in passing before, due to Studio Ghibli’s animated adaption of her book “Howl’s Moving Castle,” but I have only recently picked up any of her books (Or should I say downloaded? I got the ebook version, but I am determined now to track down this book in hard-copy along with any other book I can find of her’s.) and I would be kicking myself in the face for such a blunder if only my foot could reach that high. This is possibly the best book I have read in quite a while.

Eric ‘Cat’ Chant was such a loveable character and he really came to life through the prose. He is also, possibly, one of the most adorable characters I have ever come across in reading or in any form of media for that matter. His character growth is exceptional – it feels so natural. Just like you don’t immediately realize when you grow and become older, you don’t realize with Cat until near the end. It felt like I had grown with him, that I had gone through his troubles, his pain, his life. I became invested in the character, which is what I want and need as a reader. It’s not just Cat either, it’s every single character. I felt apart of the Chrestomanci family.

Diana Wynne Jones has woven such a wonderful and enchanting story within these pages which made for a fast, but fulfilling read. I was heartbroken when I had to say good-bye to the characters at the end, which turned into more of a see-ya later for some of them when I found out this book is part of a series. I can hardly wait to get my hands on the next book and be charmed by this world all over again.

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts On: Charmed Life by Diana Wynne Jones

Leave a Reply

