Top Ten Tuesday: Titles Or Covers That Made Me Buy It

Titles Or Covers That Made Me Buy It

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

Okay, I just had to do this top ten list because I am what people my refer to as a cover addict. Almost every book I own was bought because the cover and/or tile had caught my eye.  Of course, the summary of the book is taken into consideration…sometimes. It is a joke among some of my friends and myself that you will never find a bad looking cover on my shelves, which isn’t true, but yet at the same time it’s mostly true. I’m just shallow like that. Nah, covers are just a weakness of mine. You have no idea how hard this list was for me because of that, but I just can’t resist sharing the pretty. I was also able to narrow it down by mainly using the books I have at school with me. Covers are very important to me as I consider them to be part of the package, so without further ado here are my top ten:

* * *

Mister B. Gone by Clive Barker

This cover has an antique feel to it, not to mention the pages within are done in a way to make them appear like they have aged. They did a fabulous job making the book itself into part of the story it contains. I admit though that I wasn’t to fond of that story.

Sword of Fire and Sea by Erin Hoffman

I couldn’t help but get this book after seeing it in the new release part of the fantasy and sci-fi section at my local Barnes & Noble. Everything about the cover art and title just seems to breath adventure.

Whitechapel Gods by S.M. Peters

This cover is just made of awesome! You can’t see it to well in this photo by right under his fiery ribs is a bunch of gears. There is also a giant mechanical spider on his shoulder and he is wearing not only a trench-coat, but a top hat as well! I just love to stare at this book.

I am not a Serial Killer by Dan Wells

The title is what first grabbed my attention on this one. I mean how could somebody not being a serial killer fail to grab my attention? Then my eyes roamed the rest of it to find that it was a blood stained notebook. I just had to have it.

Jasmyn by Alex Bell

Wow, this cover is just…gorgeous!

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson

Can you not see how lovely this is? I’m reading this one now and so far I am finding it to be just a beautiful and clever as it’s cover. Yeah, my copy is a bit beat up.

The Tin Star by J.L. Langley

You can’t see it very well here, but the guy holding the hat has such bright and beautiful blue eyes on this cover. His eyes are so pretty in fact that I made sure to wave it in one of my roommates face’s and demand she look at the pretty. I’m reading this one now and loving it!

Agincourt by Bernard Cornwell

I wish the authors name was maybe one font size or two smaller, but overall I really love this cover. The guy in the bloody armor in the front and the one with the raised sword and the shield in the background just scream action.

The Floating Islands by Rachel Neumeier

It’s a floating island! The colors used in this just make me want to sing.

A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb

There is one major flaw I find to this cover and that is the back – it is super hard to read the summary of the book. They picked a color for the font that really blends in. The front, however, is amazing!

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Titles Or Covers That Made Me Buy It

Leave a Reply

