My Thoughts On: Hushed by Kelley York

Hushed by Kelley York

Published by Entangled Publishing

Synopsis:

He’s saved her. He’s loved her. He’s killed for her.

Eighteen-year-old Archer couldn’t protect his best friend, Vivian, from what happened when they were kids, so he’s never stopped trying to protect her from everything else. It doesn’t matter that Vivian only uses him when hopping from one toxic relationship to another—Archer is always there, waiting to be noticed.

Then along comes Evan, the only person who’s ever cared about Archer without a single string attached. The harder he falls for Evan, the more Archer sees Vivian for the manipulative hot-mess she really is.

But Viv has her hooks in deep, and when she finds out about the murders Archer’s committed and his relationship with Evan, she threatens to turn him in if she doesn’t get what she wants… And what she wants is Evan’s death, and for Archer to forfeit his last chance at redemption – (GoodReads)

* * *

My Thoughts:

(May Contain Minor Spoilers!)

Holy guacamole, that was one intense ride! I felt like I had taken a trip down to Walt Disney’s Magic Kingdom and took a ride on the Space Mountain roller-coaster. A blast through the dark with enough lights to give anyone a seizure – in other words it was awesome! This isn’t your average teen romance love triangle; it’s a hell-of-a lot more dark.

I absolutely loved Archer! He may be a murderer, but I couldn’t help but sympathize with him. I found him to be an adorable character. I really wanted him to find peace and to have a better life which made me extremely grateful for Evan. Archer craved for love so much he would pretty much do anything for the one girl he loved, Vivian, in hopes that she would come to love him back in the same way.

That brings me to Vivian. To be honest, I didn’t end up liking Vivian much. Not that I didn’t try and not that it was a bad thing. At the beginning and even towards the middle I was able to feel for her, at least up until she revealed something to Archer that almost completely turned me away from her for good. I feel like she held contempt for Archer over something that happened several years before, but at the same time had a hard time letting him go. Vivian is one of those characters you dislike because they are written so well rather than disliking her for being written so horribly flat.

Evan was just so adorably shy and you could really tell that he loved Archer in his own awkward, but caring way. The two of them really fit together. He was like the glue keeping Archer in one piece with everything that was trying to break the guy down. I really do wish, however, that I could have seen into Evan’s head at some points. The romance is just enough were it helps show Archer’s inner- turmoil instead o eclipsing it. I was playing so many songs in my head while reading this book and there were a lot of songs, that I have heard, that I felt conveyed Archer’s relationship with both Vivian and Evan. It just made everything that more intense.

One of the songs that I imagined fit not only Vivian and Archer’s (beside Bad Romance by Lady Gaga), but also Archer’s mental state and that song was Permafrost by Laurena

More to the point: the characters were awesomesauce!

There were two things that took me out of the story once or twice though and one of those was the money issues or lack of money issues. This probably will not bother must people, but I couldn’t help having my mind wonder to it. None of the college students (Archer, Vivian, Evan) are ever mentioned having jobs or doing anything that could support their school lifestyles. Archer’s financial status is really the only one that is explained. He gets money from his mother (where she gets it is also explained) and he mentions having saved enough money to live on his own, so if his mother cut him off he would have enough to live on until finding a job. Evan, however, spent a lot of the green during the novel and I had to wonder where exactly it was coming from. Evan’s family seemed to be relatively well-off, yet not extremely rich or anything – average like.  Now that most of you are probably rolling your eyes and wondering why this would be a big deal at all and I have to say that for me it normally wouldn’t be. It’s not like it’s so glaringly obvious or taunting the reader or anything like that and if it wasn’t for the Hilton family I wouldn’t have even blinked an eye. At the current time I find myself to be in a similar situation to the Vivian’s family (though we don’t have anyone in the hospital). I have a family member who is comparable to Vivian’s brother, Brody, and having somebody with those types of problems isn’t easy – mental or finical wise. Even if they don’t live with you.

The other thing was a scene towards the end, so I will try to be unspoilery as possible. It was how Evan got to Archer’s apartment during the last scene that would take place in that location. He had no real reason to be there and some other scenarios I have played in my mind don’t seem to add up.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good thriller. It will make your blood pump and have you on the edge of your seat wondering who will make the next move and what it will be. The romance will also make you giddy and you will probably end up cheering for Archer’s happy ending despite his crimes. Man, it is really hard for me to show how heart-pounding this was for me without hand motions.

Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

