My Thoughts On: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Title: The Hunger Games

Author: Suzanne Collins

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Number in the series: First


 Synopsis:

“Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don’t live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survival.”(GoodReads)

* ~ * ~ *

Thoughts:

I had heard many great things and had read piles of positive (and rarely negative) reviews about The Hunger Games before I had actually read the book myself. Still, I was unsure of how I would feel about it as I do not read many dystopian type books. I was pleasantly surprised to find I felt nearly as strongly about the book as most others whom have read it.

It took me awhile to get used to the writing style and the voice of the main character, Katniss Everdeen, and, I admit, it did take me quite a bit of time to get fully engrossed in the story. It was slow reading for me until the tributes reached the Capitol as it felt nothing of much importance was happening before then. True, it was important information needed in order to understand why the Games happened and why they were to be feared. I was, however, surprised on how fast I had come to love Peeta Mellark, Haymitch, and some of the other tributes when it took me so long to get any sort of connection with Katniss.

I liked how the Hunger Games were described as I felt it showed a realistic portrayal of how different people of varying ages (from 12 to 18) would act when thrown into that type of situation. The author also did not skive over the gruesome details when the tributes started to die off in violent ways. Of course, there are parts that I felt were in some instances a bit weak, but not overly so. Overall, the first book in The Hunger Games trilogy is a great read filled with action and emotion. I would recommend caution to younger readers or those who are a bit more on the squeamish side when it comes to violence as there is a good amount of it in this series.

*~*~*

Rating: 4 out of 5

The youtuber adrisaurus presented a song found in the book very beautifully.

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts On: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

    • It is my second favorite out of the three. I mean you just can’t beat Johanna and Finnick in Catching Fire 😉 I am still so in love with this song!

Leave a Reply

