Reflecting on Reading

The Importance of Books in My Life:

It’s hard for me to believe sometimes how much reading has changed my life. I used to hate books and the words they contained within them. The stories I would have left untouched simply because of the format in which they were told. Honestly, I could not be happier that I ended up in the English class I did in the 7th Grade. As, if it weren’t for that class, I would probably still be turning my nose up at books and would never have been privy to the secrets they hoard between their pages. I wouldn’t have spine next to spine lined bookshelves or any of the magical and wondrous adventures that I’ve experienced.

I would never have meet such charming and endearing characters as Eric (Cat) Chant from Diana Wynne Jones’ Charmed Life or Charlie from Stephen Chbosky’s, The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Never to see the mystical world of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series or to get the wonderfully bitter taste of darkness that Kelley York’s novel, Hushed, provided. Never to be left wondering ‘who done it?’ until the final pages reveal like in Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None or even get that special inside look at human perseverance that I got when reading A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. I would have never gotten to see as true of love as Westley and Buttercup’s from William Goldman’s, The Princess Bride or try to make sense of the lot you have been given in life with Ponyboy Curtis from The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton; to go that journey with Hansel and Gretel, from Adam Gidwitz’ A Tale Dark and Grimm, to find a new family after their parents chopped off their heads – only to discover themselves.

Books hold a very special place in, not only my heart, but my life. There is no doubt in my mind that I would be a very different person without them. I would never have fallen in love with mythology and I probably would never have found the inspiration to want to be a writer myself, and, perhaps, I would not be as tolerant as I am now. Nor, would I have found a deep love for comics. They provide an escape or simply a friend when I needed one, and they also can give me a sense of danger I may never have. I can travel not only to different parts of this world, but  have the chance to explore others, such as Terry Pratchett’s Discworld, or simply be shot into a dystopian future – like with The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. I feel that I can grow and develop with the characters, share not only in their ups, but also in their downs. True, it is possible that not even the characters themselves are inherently good. The possibility that there is no thick line between good and evil is always there and the choices made can be overwhelmingly hard because the distinction between the two is so heavily blurred. What makes a good choice? And what makes a bad choice? It can differ in the eyes of the beholder.

There are so many different stories out there just waiting for somebody to came by and read them. Some may be collecting dust and others may be considered classics and are read so many times their very binding is threatening to fall apart – desperate for a break. The amount of people whom know of the tale does not make it any better or worse, but what that tale, what the characters, may have to offer the reader is what truly makes a good book. I too, want to tell stories. Stories of characters that will, perhaps, change the life of someone who reads them. The same way as S.E. Hinton’s, The Outsiders, did for me in the 7th grade.

 

Stay Strong and Continue Reading

3 thoughts on “Reflecting on Reading

    • Thank you for stopping by! Charmed Life was my first Diana Wynne Jones book and I’m really looking forward to all the other books in the Chrestomanci series or any of her books really. I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

