My Thoughts On: In a Glass Grimmly by Adam Gidwitz

Title: In a Glass Grimmly

Author: Adam Gidwitz

Publisher: Dutton Children’s Books

*~*~*

Synopsis:

Take caution ahead—
Oversize plant life, eerie amphibious royalty, and fear-inducing creatures abound.

Lest you enter with dread.
Follow Jack and Jill as they enter startling new landscapes that may (or may not) be scary, bloody, terrifying, and altogether true.

Step lively, dear reader . . .
Happily ever after isn’t cutting it anymore. –

(Goodreads) 

*~*~*

When I heard Adam Gidwitz was coming out with another novel I knew I had to have it. In fact, I nearly cried with joy when I finally had the book in my hands. It’s absolutely gorgeous looking. I’m mean, come on, just look at that cover! Anyway, back to the subject at hand. This book is a companion book to Adam Gidwitz’ first book, A Tale Dark and Grimm, so that means you can read them in any order you like. You don’t have to know anything about the first book in order to read the second, which is kind of nice.

Jack and Jill are two cousins that leave their homes after two separate and horribly scarring events. They team-up with a talking frog named, Frog and when they eventually accept a quest from a shady old woman the adventure begins. They end up going through several different trails in order to, hopefully, complete the quest they have been given, none of which are a cake walk.

Now, Jack and Jill are not as likable as Hansel and Gretel from the author’s first novel, A Tale Dark and Grimm, but that doesn’t mean they weren’t likable at all. Again I found myself liking the male protagonist a bit more than the female as Jill bothered me for a tiny while. However, their time on page also seemed to be more even than it was for their predecessors. Though there trails didn’t seem as horrible (not that they were anything to sneeze at).

The ending, sadly, was kind of disappointing for me. That’s not to say it was a horrible ending per say, it was okay. I just wanted more of the emotional impact family-wise that I was expecting and looking forward to. It felt that, in some ways, it really built up for it, but when everything was said and done fell kind of flat. I was happy about what Jack and Jill received in the end, which was a nice experience. I still love how the author inserts comments throughout the story!

Overall, this novel was quite good and I was pleased with it. I think it lived up well to the last book (though slightly below) and I’m glad that I got the chance to read it. I would recommend this book to anyone how likes fairy tales, especially the ones that aren’t polished and cleaned of bloodshed and other gruesome things (like vomit and stomach acid). In a Glass Grimmly is a quick, fun, and easy read. It pulls you in and makes you wish that you had a three-legged frog companion named, Frog.

Rating: 4 out of 5

*~*~*

 Other Reviews for This Author:

A Tale Dark and Grimm

Leave a Reply

