My Thoughts On: Hollowed by Kelley York

Hollowed

Title: Hollowed (first book in the Half Light Saga)

Author: Kelley York

Publisher: Smashwords

* ~ * ~ *

Synopsis:

All 18-year-old Briar Greyson wanted was to figure out this whole living-away-from-your-parents thing. Apartment, steady job, cool roommate? Check. Noah, her adorable (albeit elusive) boyfriend? Check. Everything in the life of Briar was pretty good.

Then she and her roommate are attacked on their way home one night. Briar wasn’t supposed to survive.

Instead, according to the two guys who saved her, she’s turning into the things that attacked her: a vampire. Totally crazy and Not Okay. Now Noah’s secrets are coming to light, and he wants Briar dead. Then there are the vampires who attacked Briar to lure out her sister.

Her sister…who died years ago. 

(Didn’t she?)

The city’s body count is rising, and Briar wants to help put a stop to it. But first, she has to figure out who the real enemy is: the vampires, the boy she loves, or the sister she thought she’d lost. (Goodreads)

* ~ * ~ *

There is a ton I could say about Hollowed by Kelley York (author of Hushed), but the first thing I want to write is, that despite it being a paranormal romance (and to some that may or may not be a bad thing), it is a very good book. I will admit the main character, Briar, bothered me sometimes like a mosquito buzzing in my ear and trying to drink my blood leaving behind an uncomfortable itch and this was mainly because I felt like there were a few times were she was kind of pointing fingers. She was calling people out for their ‘five year old behavior’ when a good number of her own actions and reactions were no better. Outside of this I did like Briar (and she did kind of have some leeway for her actions), she redeemed herself in my eyes frequently with her rather spunky attitude though, I admit, it took awhile. The other characters were all great, especially Oliver, Daniel, and Fred. They were all very rounded and had personalities and pasts that really made me feel for them.

The story itself was predictable at times, yet that in no way made it less enjoyable. The best parts, I think, contained Oliver. That boy had me gushing and I hope to see a lot more of him in the future books. Kelley York has proven to me that she is close to a master at story telling, but my initial dislike of Briar and to some extent her relationships left me in a limbo for a tiny bit. Still, I eagerly await the next book in the Half-Light saga.

Rating: 4 bites out of 5

* ~ * ~ *

Other Reviews for this Author:

11842962

Hushed

Leave a Reply

