Comic Book Wednesday: Captain Midnight #0

Comic Book Wednesday is a now a bi-weekly, hopefully, feature I created to talk about the comics I am reading. It has gone through many different revisions already, though this one should be the last (fingers crossed). As of now I will be talking about my first impressions on a series after reading the first issue.
* ~ * ~ *
Captain Midnight
Title: Captain Midnight #0
Writer: Joshua Williamson
Artist: Victor Ibanez & Pere Perez
Colors: Ego
Letters: Nate Piekos
Covers: Raymond Swanland (front) and Steve Rude (back)
Publisher: Dark Horse (2013)
* ~ * ~ *
Synopsis:
A genius inventor, Jim Albright was one of the world’s greatest minds and one of America’s great intellectual resources. Prohibited from officially enlisting, his intelligence too great an asset to risk, Albright became Captain Midnight, a mysterious hero who would suddenly appear in the nick of time to help the Allies in battle against the Nazis.
In 1944, he disappeared…  
(Description from the inside of the cover)
* ~ * ~ *
My Thoughts:
The reason I picked up Captain Midnight was because his character description and past reminded me of a combination of Marvel heroes Iron Man and Captain America, so I was expecting to be pretty impressed and I was. Captain Midnight  certainly seems like he is going to be an interesting character with his smarts and habit of attacking at midnight, not to mention him having to adapt to a new time period. As far as other characters go, I really hope Rick, an aviator pilot and Captain Midnight Fanatic, end up having a major or at least a recurring role.
This issue certainly packs on the mystery! What did the piece of technology that the Secret Squadron was protecting do and what is the ‘truth’ Joyce Ryan was talking about? I’m looking forward to it all unraveling in later issues!
Would I continue this series?: Yes. Yes, I would.
Leave a Reply

