Comic Book Wednesday: Batman ’66 #1

Comic Book Wednesday is a now a bi-weekly, hopefully, feature I created to talk about the comics I am reading. It has gone through many different revisions already, though this one should be the last (fingers crossed). As of now I will be talking about my first impressions on a series after reading the first issue.
* ~ * ~ *
BATMAN '66 #1 CoverLR

Title: Batman ’66  #1

Writer: Jeff Parker

Artist & Colorer: Jonathan Case

Letters: Wes Abbott

Cover: Michael and Laura Allred

Editor: Jim Chadwick

 Publisher: DC Comics (2013)
Rated: E (Everyone)
* ~ * ~ * ~ *
Synopsis:
Put on your go-go boots and get ready to “Batusi” back to the Swingin’ 60s as DC Comics reimagines the classic Batman TV series in comics form for the first time! These all-new stories portray The Caped Crusader, The Boy Wonder and their fiendish rogues gallery just the way viewers remember them. In this first adventure, The Riddler’s out to steal some valuable artwork from under the noses of Gotham’s police. But Batman gets help from an unlikely source: a certain femme fatale dressed in feline finery!  – (DC Comics)
*~ * ~ * ~*

Why I bought it: 

It was so bright and vivid. No, seriously. I am so used to seeing Batman in super dark colors and tones (and personality) that when I saw this, I thought I would be blinded. It was awesome!

What I thought: 

Golly gee, this was great! I practically loved everything about this issue from the art and coloring to the dialogue, especially the dialogue:

Batman: Besides don’t you want to make use of that daytime driver’s license?

Robin: I sure do!”

_ _ _

Alfred: To the Alf-Pole, heh-hmh!”

_ _ _

Batman: Thanks to Catwoman’s Complying with the fire marshal 

and having accessible extinguishers placed in her club!”

_ _ _

Batman ’66 felt over the top and that was definitely it’s charm – it had me smiling non-stop. Some of the action noises were way out there too, like CAT-ZAM!

I will say, this issue to me longer to read then a single issue usually does, but that was because I adored it so much that I kept rereading pages or just staring at it to admire it as a whole. This comic reads sort of like a children’s action cartoon: light, fun,and bright. It was also inspired by the classic Batman television series (which I’ve seen about five minutes of, yet enjoyed what I saw) and that is probably why I liked it as much as I did. I tend to like things that are considered cheesey and old-fashioned.

Would I continue?: 

Gosh, I couldn’t imagine not continuing this series – it makes me so happy. This one is certainly being added to my pull list on my next trip to the comic book store. I would even say this is a series I would collect all the single issues of (maybe even different variant covers of) as well as the trades. I guess this just proves justice always prevails!

3 thoughts on “Comic Book Wednesday: Batman ’66 #1

Leave a Reply

