Comic Book Wednesday: Quantum and Woody #1

Welcome to another Comic Book Wednesday! This is a small, bi-weekly, feature I created to help share some comic love and say what I thought about the first issue of a series, why I bought it, and if I would continue it. Of course, since a single issue is, roughly, 30 pages these posts will be relatively small, but if a series can’t suck you in at the very beginning are they worth continuing?

* ~ * ~ * ~ *

QW_001_COVER_SOOK

Title: Quantum and Woody #1

Writers: James Asmus

Artist & Colorer: Tom Fowler (artist) & Jordie Bellaire (colorist)

Letters: Dave Lanphear

Covers: Ryan Sook, Andrew Robinson, Tom Fowler, & Marcos Martin

Editor: Jody Leheup

 Publisher: Valiant (July, 2013)
Quantum and Woody were created by MD Bright & Priest.
* ~ * ~ * ~ *
Synopsis:

Once upon a time, Eric and Woody Henderson were inseparable. Adopted brothers. Best friends. Brilliant minds. Years later, they are estranged siblings, petty rivals, and washed-up failures. But when their father’s murder leads them into the throes of a life-altering scientific accident, Eric and Woody will find themselves with a whole new purpose – and a perfectly legitimate reason to wear costumes and fight crime. Go big or go home, folks! Quantum and Woody are coming! And the action-packed, zeitgeist-shredding exploitation stunt comic you demanded is here at last.

(And, yes, there will be a goat too. Eventually.) – (Valiant)

* ~ * ~ * ~ *

Why I Bought It:

I bought this comic because of the adopted brother dynamic. I’ve read many a story involving brothers or half-brothers, but nothing really dealing with adoptive brothers, so that really peaked my interest. Plus, there was a goat promised to come in later issues and I think it may end up being the Quantum and Woody superhero team mascot!

What I Thought:

(I did go a bit more into depth about certain scenes of the comic than I normally do, so if you like to be completely surprised when reading an issue the first time this may take some the surprise out. So, yeah, spoilers, I guess?)

The art was a bit inconsistent for my tastes. At the very beginning there is a flashback to Eric and Woody’s high school days and Woody looks like he could be in his early forties. There is also a point, about halfway through, where the facial styles just seem to change, I believe there was only one artist and colorist working on this issue so it just felt kind of strange. I mean, the change wasn’t that dramatic or anything, it was subtle, but still… I don’t know, it could just be the way the facial expressions are done. There was also two or three times were we only saw the whites of Woody’s eyes which made him look extremely murderous in one case (pg. 13, I believe, when he is being interrogated). I was just meh on the art really, yet I think my biggest reason for that was the facial expressions.

As far as the story goes it was okay, it wasn’t as humorous as I thought it would be and some parts left me going, “really?” For example: Eric is eating at a 24 hour diner and a man walks in, comes up behind a waitress and tells her to give him all the money, and no one will get hurt; Eric acts in a way I think most people would expect a guy like him to act – he incapacitates the supposed threat! However, it turns out that he is the boyfriend of said waitress and was only joking and Eric is kicked out of the joint and threatened by the waitress who says she will call the cops (I am assuming it is the waitress that says this as we only get a glimpse of the aftermath of the incident from what Eric says as he is leaving the diner). Honestly, who pretends to be an armed robber in a public place like that and doesn’t expect any negative repercussions!? Then there is a family photo that was taken when they were in high school after they got in major trouble for a fight that was shown throughout the issue, which I didn’t feel was as bad as the diner fight, but I thought it weird that they would take a photo then.

The rest of the story was decent. It had some mystery and some nice wit from Woody, but there was nothing that really blew me away about it. Quantum and Woody #1 was interesting with the fact that the comic started with what’s to come and ended with how they may have gotten said abilities. It was average overall, yet it just may have a slow start. I can see potential in this.

Would I Continue?:

I think I will give this series another issue, but if I don’t feel like there is an improvement I may drop it entirely or wait for the trade.

Leave a Reply

